A couple days ago my bicycle developed a terminal case of swivel seat.

What’s swivel seat, you might be asking? Well, that’s what happens when a fat-ass rider puts many, many miles on his Specialized Crossroads Sport bike over a period of 3 or so years and does not have the funds to properly maintain said bike.

Specialized Crossroads Sport

 

This bike’s seat post has an integral shock absorbing mechanism. What actually happened is that this mechanism stripped out, which destabilized the seat allowing it to swivel on the shaft. It’s a bit difficult to ride the bike with the seat swiveling back and forth like I was sitting in Uncle Paddy’s Pub sucking back a tall Guinness.

For the short term fix, I’m planning on clamping the seat post to my drill press and drilling a hole right through the outer housing and into the shock mechanism itself. I will then stop the swiveling by inserting a bolt/nut at this point. It’s an ugly fix, but I must have my bicycle up and functioning. It helps me maintain my sanity. Of course, this will defeat the shock absorbing function. Oh, well… sore butt better than straight jacket, huh?

A new seat post is $29.99 + tax from the Specialized dealer here near my home. I’ve already ordered it. I don’t know how I’m going to pay for it, though. Feel free to click the Donate button here to contribute to my sanity maintenance fund. 😉

For now, though… I guess I’ll just walk up the 7-11 to get my lottery tickets.

Later…

~Eric

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

12 responses »

  1. lilbambi says:

    Enjoy your new seat! Take care, my friend!

  2. Barnabyh says:

    You have the privilege of living near the ocean. Life can’t be that bad ;-). I’m still hoping to get there one day and just be able to wake up and go for a long walk by the seaside, tasting the salt in the air. Nothing’s better.
    One day I’ll be living in Cape Town, one day… Have a good one.

    • You’re surrounded by an ocean. You haven’t driven a few miles to see it? Even if you were sitting in the middle or England, it’s not that far to any seaside. But yeah… I do take that seaside stuff for granted. I’ve never been far from the Gulf or just Tampa Bay for that matter in my entire lifetime. It’s no big deal for me. For someone from Kansas or Central Africa, I suppose the ocean would be an awesome thing to see. It’s just smelly water lapping up on beer bottle strewn sand with the occasional rotting fish carcass here. HA! Just kidding. While it can be that at times, the water does hold an hypnotic affect for most folks. Go have a looksee when you get a chance.

      • Barnabyh says:

        Ah, you’re right. No, I go to the seaside when ever I can, Eastbourne, Seaford, Brighton are only about a 1.5 hrs drive away. But it’s not the same as having it right outside your front door to take a walk after/before breakfast.

        • Well, the closest body of water to me is the Hillsborough Bay. It’s just one part of the larger Tampa Bay. It’s where that pic of the Bayshore in a previous comment here was taken. It’s bicycle riding distance from me… about 6 miles or so. Then on the other side of me (to the west) there is the Old Tampa Bay. I can drive there in 10 minutes. Past that, farther west is the Gulf of Mexico. That is about a 30-40 minute drive, traffic permitting. So, it’s not really like the water is outside my front door. The only water outside my front door is when the streets flood during the afternoon thunderstorms. 😉

Leave a Reply

