I’ve never read any of Colin Dexter‘s Morse books, but I intend to some day.

In the meantime, though, I’m thoroughly enjoying the television series on DVDs borrowed from my local library. I found the complete series list on Wikipedia. I’ve been using that to place holds on DVDs at the library. I’ve been watching them in order. I’m currently in the middle of Series 5.

The Inspector Morse television show was broadcast in the U.S. on PBS’s Masterpiece Theater starting back in the late 80s. I was busy with other things in my life and missing out on many wonderful programs on Masterpiece at that time, Morse being one of them.

A recent production of a prequel to Inspector Morse called Endeavourwhich was broadcast on Masterpiece Mystery just a few weeks ago inspired me to search for the original Morse episodes. I wanted to see them. I’m glad I pursued this. Morse is outstanding!

I’m a current fan and avid watcher of the sequel to Inspector Morse called Lewis, which is currently in its 6th Series already. It follows the cases of Morse’s sergeant who has now become an inspector in his own right. Good stuff!

I also love Barrington Pheloung‘s theme music for all these programs, but particularly Inpector Morse. Here’s a Youtube video of it:

Well, I’ve got the last three from Series 5 waiting on my at the library. I shall have to go there to get them tomorrow some time. I love my library!

If you like mysteries, give Endeavour, Inspector Morse, and Lewis a looksee. You might like ’em.

Later…

~Eric

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

6 responses »

  1. chekkizhar says:

    hey man, Just read about those 3 in net. Seems to be interesting… Last week I came across one more drama , Sherlock HOlmes . Finished watching all releases so far. Now, 3 more in queue.. No problem for atleast 6 month’s weekends….. THanks buddy.

      • crond says:

        almost finished watching till series 6 of Inspector Morse. Two more left. I like LEWIS character. 🙂 Lot of English Grammar learning ;)…. “I am investigating a murder here,sir” ..lol..

        • Hello, my friend. I’m glad you’re enjoying Morse. When you get finished with all of those, you can start watching the “Lewis” series, which is a sequel series that takes place years later when Sergeant Lewis is Detective Inspector Lewis. Good stuff! 🙂

          P.S. Good to see you at the Slackware Linux Documentation Project!

          • crond says:

            sure I watch that too. And, thanks about the Slack Doc Project. A great start, it has. But I am an infant in Slackware, though I use it for almost 2 years. I am doing my programming IN Slackware. Not doing much WITH Slackware. Anyway, I am seriously looking for a way to contribute more to Slackware related Projects. 🙂 …..cheers…. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great set of series! Love detective stories, TV shows, books.

    Thanks for the heads up on them!

Leave a Reply

