The spring has always been a favorite season for me.

Green is my favorite color and springtime is the season of green. I love it when all the trees start putting out their leaves and the flowers start blooming. It’s a time of awakening from the winter’s sleep. I think humans have it impressed in their DNA to feel joy during the spring. It’s the season that ushers in the long, productive days of summer, when game and plants are abundant for the hunter or the forager.

Of course, most of us don’t worry too much about that these days. We just go to the grocery store to hunt and forage. Nevertheless, it’s still ingrained in humans to feel more alive and positive during the springtime. Sadly, it’s a misery for those of you who suffer from allergies. The oaks will be blooming any day now here in Central Florida. Since we’ve had a very mild and dry winter, I’m sure the pollen output will be horrendous. It’ll be snowing pollen soon enough.

That, and bazillions of leaves, is the price I pay for the shade, coolness, and beauty provided by the eight oak trees in my yard. It’s a small price to pay, I feel. I love my oaks. I love my electric bill, too. My house is nearly completely in shade during the hottest parts of the day.

I’m looking forward to watching my Mexican petunias that I planted last summer come back to life and start putting out their pretty little purple flowers every morning and evening. They put a few out during the winter, but nothing like the way they were producing in the summertime.

Eventually, springtime leads to the doldrums of summer here in Florida, where hot and sticky days/nights make life miserable if you don’t have an air conditioner running somewhere nearby. That’s OK, too. I ain’t complaining. I just hope that the hurricanes pass on by again this year without visiting Florida. I haven’t had home owner’s insurance in five years. When it got to be $2400.00 a year, I cancelled it.

Springtime is almost here, folks. Dream a little. Take a deep breath. Take a moment and smell the beautiful new flowers. Life is fleeting. Slow it down a bit when you can.

Later…

~Eric

Image credits: oak pollen from Bethany Gallagher’s website –> SlowButt

Mexican petunias โ€“ from Phillipโ€™s Natural World. Also, I recommend Phillipโ€™s wonderful article about his own Mexican petunias experience.

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

18 responses »

  1. Green is my favorite color too! And for the same reasons! Green means spring, summer, fall…no winter dismal stuff going on then! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. comhack says:

    Nice post Eric. I used to love those Florida springs ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lovely post, Eric. I guess I’m more of an autumnal person myself, but yes, spring has its own beauty.

    Here are the opening lines of Tolstoy’s “Resurrection” (from the translation by Aylmer Maude):

    “Though hundreds of thousands had done their very best to disfigure the small piece of land on which they were crowded together, by paying the ground with stones, scraping away every vestige of vegetation, cutting down the trees, turning away birds and beasts, and filling the air with the smoke of naphtha and coal, still spring was spring, even in the town.”

    • I like what Leo had to say there. He’s right. You can’t stop spring from coming. Oh, and I really like autumn also. The transition seasons between the misery of summer and the frigidity of winter are the best of the year.

  4. So true, argumentativeoldgit and Eric!

    Autumn with it’s wonderful colors and deep greens is also one of my favorites. Course you have to keep that old ‘hammer hanging over one’s head’ concerns about old man Winter being right around the corner at bay though. Survival is interesting at best for many areas in the Winter.

    And with Spring, if you live in the South (USA), there is the concerns that that hot, humid time is right around the corner.

    Every season has it’s interesting points though…

    Like last night and todayโ€ฆwho would have thought that in Virginia (USA), we would be having couple of inches of fluffy snow on the ground on February 19/February 20 2012?

    • I guess that means my brother’s teeth were chattering a bit in Fairfax this morning. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • LOL! Yes, I would venture to say so if he had to go to work early this morning!

        But it will be in the mid 40s today so I don’t expect this to last…it has been melting and dripping very fast this morning!

        • It’s 59F here right now. We got the tail end of what y’all are getting. I’m enjoying my morning hanging around in my sweatpants. Won’t be doing that for many more days here in Florida. It’ll be back to shorts, T-shirts, and flip-flops pretty soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

          • Nice! We will be back to 50s, then 60s, and then back to 50s this week. LOL!

            We could even have some 40s like today yet for a few weeks. It was unusual, but not unheard of to have snow this time of year, even here in VA.

            But I remember being in FL Orlando area back in I think it was ’82 during Bike Week while we took the kids to Disney World, and in enclosed areas that blocked the wind that week, the sun was very warm and you could actually lay out in a bathing suit. But you better have something on like a sweater on the beach walking. The wind was pretty darn chilly.

            We were staying in Daytona actually during that week and drove to Disney and Circus World. We wanted to go to Seaworld too but it was closed for maintenance that year.

          • Actually, it was an unusually mild winter, even by Florida standards, this year. Unfortunately, that means a really UGLY flea/termite/mosquito/ant/roach season coming this summer. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

            Bike Week is in March. It still can be pretty nippy in Florida in March. We had my biker club’s State Rally in April in Lake City (just south of GA/FL state line) two or three years running. I remember the first year was hot and muggy, but the next two were pretty damned nippy. That’s Florida weather for you. If you don’t like it, just wait 30 mins. It’ll change. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • You are right. March for Bike Week; we came down there the last week in February i think it was and we were down there for a couple/few weeks. Very nice area in Daytona and right off the beach…although the beach is wide there! People were driving on the beach too! LOL…After seeing how narrow the beaches were at the Jersey Shore, the wide of the beach at Daytona was incredible.

          • No more driving on Daytona Beach. I think they stopped that quite a few years ago. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

          • That is too funny! FL must be like VA in that respect (wait 30 min and it will change). ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • Typical. Think they stopped it in NJ on all but the fewest of state parks I think. But you can understand it on the main commercial beaches in NJ. They are so narrow, they’d be running over people left and right. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • Well, you know how it is. If anything is deemed “fun” (or profitable) for the little guys by the State, it is soon made illegal.

          • ROFL! So often true!

  5. PsiCop says:

    You’re right, Eric, spring is almost here. Yes, even way up here in (typically) cold New England. Temperatures have been unseasonably high all winter. The trees here are budding — in February! — and the scallions we left behind in the garden last fall, are also coming up. The daffodills and rhubarb can’t be far behind … I’m betting they’ll both sprout before February is over.

    Of course, while we’ve had an extremely mild winter, we had a pretty horrific autumn. Beginning at the end of August with Tropical Storm Irene, followed two months later by the Snowtoberocalypse that dumped two feet of snow just days before Halloween. The former wiped out power for 10 days to just over half the state; the latter wiped out power to 70% of the state for two weeks. Rivers are still running high, from a summer with a lot of rain, with the torrent that Irene left, and with the runoff from the Snowtoberocalypse. I’m betting bugs will be a huge problem this spring because of the abundance of water.

Leave a Reply

