You may remember from THIS previous article that Farmer Slacker is trying his hand (and black thumb) at tomato growing.

Well, them mater plants is getting bigger and bigger. And now we got maters on ’em too. There’s a 4 or 5 little tomatoes on each plant right now. The largest is about the size of a tennis ball. It’s going to be very cool to actually be able to eat something that I grew myself. Ain’t nature a trip?

I don’t know that this will end up being a new hobby for the Slacker, but I’m having fun with it at the moment. I also have a little basil plant growing out there along with the tomatoes. It’s doing OK, too. I don’t even know how to process/use fresh basil. I guess I’ll have to do some research here pretty soon.

Well, anyway… this was just a quick tomato update.

Later…

~Eric

Image credits: carrot and lettuce courtesy of http://clip-art-pictures.com/

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

6 responses »

  1. Nature is a wonderful thing!!

    We have some cabbage and sweet bell peppers out already and our tomato plants go out in the next day or two as well.
    We are very excited about it!

    • I’ve spent so much time taking care of my little tomato plants and watching them grow, I almost feel canabalistic when thinking about actually eating one. I’m sure that feeling won’t last, though. Tomatoes! YUM! 😉

  2. RKflorida says:

    Went to Publix to check how my garden was doing. You wouldn’t believe the variety and quality of my veggies. 3 different kinds of tomatoes, potatoes, bell peppers, hot peppers, broccoli, celery, bean sprouts, and on and on. And they are so easy to pick. Didn’t even need a garden knife. I’m eating some of it right now. Delicious! I love how some of it grows in cello-wrap.

    I’m gonna break out in a chorus of “Old MacDonald Had a Farm” any minute.

  3. RKflorida says:

    SweetBay? Is that a local market? Tampa area only? All we have are Publix, Wynn-Dixie, and 1 or 2 lone Albertsons.

Leave a Reply

