Well, it might be green, but to me it’s an act of coercion. Here’s today’s rant, folks…

I tried to login to my PayPal account today, but was redirected to a message that is basically threatening me with closure of my PayPal accounts unless I agree to their new electronic communication delivery policy. This is just the height of arrogance. I’ve had a couple of my banks and credit card companies offer me this option, but at least with them, it was an option; not so with PayPal, it seems.

I always decline paperless, because to me, the Internet is not an integral home utility like phone, water, and electricity. Any day may come when I can no longer pay my ISP bill. If that happens, I’ll no longer have access to the Internet. How would I get my communications and pay my bills then? No thanks. Paperless is bovine feces.

These companies aren’t saving trees. They’re just shifting the burden of hard copy on us to save themselves a few bucks. We have to print the stuff out for our records. PayPal even warns that you should print communications between them and you for your records because they do not intend to have it cluttering their servers forever.

You may print or save a copy of these Communications for your records as they may not be accessible online at a later date. (Emphasis mine)

Ain’t this just grand? So, what’s the alternative? Google Checkout. Pffft… yeah, right. PayPal has us where they want us and they know it. Up until logging into today, I loved PayPal and recommended their services to everyone I know. I’m not so sure now. This doesn’t make me happy with them. I’ll tell you that much.

I did not agree to their terms at this time. They claim they will continue to remind me from time to time until January of 2012, at which point I will no longer have access to my accounts unless I agree to their paperless (for them) policy. There oughta’ be a law…

*grumble-grumble*

Later…

~Eric

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

8 responses »

  1. Dick Krohn says:

    My wife had the same problem getting them to mail her a check as they have always done. We opened a separate bank account with zero fees to accommodate their pushy policy. She makes a few bucks each month with ebay and we had no choice. I hate it. Once day the government will shut down the Internet and we will be truly screwed.

    • Oh, I don’t know about the Gov shutting down the Internet. I’m kinda’ thinking that one day access to it might be free for all. I’m probably just dreaming, though. 😦

      Thanks for stopping by and reading, Dick. πŸ™‚

      ~Eric

  2. abarbarian says:

    I always take a screen shot of any on-line transactions and notices that way I do not have to waste paper or money. Tykes born to be thrifty. πŸ™‚

  3. chrisretusn says:

    Going “paperless” is the trend for some things. My banks all have the option. Guess I’m just old. I have a real file cabinet with files in it. That cardboard and paper folks not digital. πŸ˜‰

  4. segmation says:

    Get Segmation online Windows Painting FREE with TrialPay! How does this work?
    Try or buy one offer from your preferred brands and get your favorite productsβ€”free. TrialPay uses money from the advertiser to pay for your product. It’s that easy
    Check out: http://www.trialpay.com/checkout/?c=6d67063&tid=9ahMg9a. Thanks for allowing my comment.

    • I normally would have sent a comment like this to the SPAM pile, but in your case, I believe I’ll make an exception… for two reasons: 1) you seem to have a very nice product and website, and 2) you thanked me in the comment for allowing its posting here. That is not the usual rude behavior of most blog spammers.

      Best of luck with your product and your business. πŸ™‚

      Regards,

      ~Eric

Leave a Reply

