Well, I can’t seem to come up with any one thing to write about this afternoon, so I’m going to write about a few things instead.

For starters, some of you may have noticed that my theme here on the blog has changed about three times in the past three days. Yeah… I just can’t seem to settle on a favorite for the week. I think the current one I have up looks pretty nice. The theme is called Garland by Stefan Nagtegaal and Steven Wittens. You can read more about it HERE. Click on the screenshot thumbnail to see what it looked like… just in case I’ve changed it by the time you read this.

Click for bigger pic

Alrighty then… now that we have that out of the way, let’s get to the news.

From the “What the f*ck was this guy thinking?” department –> U.S.S. Enterprise Captain Relieved of Command, as reported by National Public Radio. This ain’t Captain Kirk’s Enterprise, evidently? I mean c’mon, folks. Was this guy really that stupid? Did he really not give a thought to what would happen when this shit surfaced (no joke about submariners intended here)? I’ve been known to say that most things in life don’t surprise me much anymore, but jeeez! Stupidity still has the ability to amaze me at times, I guess.

The Id

From the “Awww… that sucks.” department –> Anne Francis, dream girlfriend of every prepubescent teen boy (and some girls) back in the late 50s and early 60s, has died. She was 80 years old, bless her heart. She’ll always be in her mid-20s in my memories of her as Doctor Morbius’ daughter, Altaira, in the movie Forbidden Planet (1956). Of course, don’t tell anyone this, but the Id was my favorite character from that movie. R.I.P. Anne.

And lastly, from the “Oh goody!” department –> Florida has a new governor in the Capitol this evening. His name is Rick Scott. He seems like a nice enough guy. I didn’t vote for him, but like with all politicians, I’m willing to give him a fair chance to make good on all his promises about making my State a better place to live with opportunities for all. I can hardly wait… “Let’s get to work!”, as he so often said during the campaign. Oh, wait… we have to party a bit first; inauguration ball and all that. Well, we can start on Monday then. OK with you guys?

Later…

~Eric

Image credits:

  • Enterprise image – Star Trek® is a registered trademark of Paramount Pictures
  • The Id image – all rights owned by Metro Goldwyn Meyer (MGM)
About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

Leave a Reply

