MERRY CHRISTMAS! What did Santa bring me this Christmas? A cold, that’s what.

I woke up on Christmas Day with the sore throat from Hell. As if that wasn’t bad enough, the nose works started shortly thereafter, then the fever and aches. Ah… what a great way to spend Christmas Day!

I’m not really complaining, folks. I had a pretty good Christmas. I enjoyed the family get-together on Christmas Eve more than I usually do. It seemed a bit more pleasant this year without my uncle’s Gestapo-like supervision of the details.

Don’t get me wrong, uncle Pete has always done a wonderful job of getting this family thing set up and running smoothly. It’s just that he has a bit of an iron fist supervisory approach. He’s 84 years old this year. He decided to turn the operation over to his youngest sister. She’s only 68. She (along with my brother as her main helper elf) did a fabulous job, I think.

I hope y’all had a nice Christmas, too… or just a nice day, if Christmas ain’t your thing. 2010 is just about used up. I’m looking forward to 2011. Why? Well, why not? It’s going to get here one way or another. I may as well be looking forward to it. Hell, after my health issues back in September, I look forward to EVERY day… every minute of every day.

Anyway, this is just some rambling. You didn’t have to take notes on this one. I don’t think Sister Mary Himmler is going to quiz on this one, so relax. Just wanted to pop in here for a minute. This is Day 3 of the sickies. It was the first day I felt like sitting in front of this computer.

Have a great week!

Later…

~Eric

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

6 responses »

  1. I have a few words for you Vitamin D and of course Vitamin C, but mainly Vitamin D. πŸ™‚

    The lack of Vitamin D in the Winter is often the reason for colds…compounded by the lack of Vitamin C.

    Rest, keep warm and get some good Vitamin D and C!

    Get well my friend!

    • Well, thanks for your few words, but you’re preaching to the choir. I’ve been taking vitamin/mineral supplements since I was in my late teens. I started it because I knew then that my diet wasn’t cutting it for the necessities. I just kept it up out of habit.

      I haven’t been sick since Christmas of ’07. I rarely catch colds or flu. I usually avoid sick people. That helps too, if you can manage it. That one year I worked in that call center Hell hole, I caught flu/cold three times. I hadn’t been sick in 7 years prior to that job. People are infectious. πŸ˜‰

      Today is Day 4. I’m HUMAN again. I feel pretty good after a nice hot shower this AM. πŸ™‚

  2. I woke up with a cold on christmas eve so I know what you are going through. Luckily I got better Sunday but I am still blowing snot and stuff.

    Hope you get better soon Buddy!!!

  3. ebrke says:

    Sorry to hear that, Eric. Glad you’re starting to feel better. Having the sniffles would have been a great excuse for avoiding the outdoor mess of the northeast the last few days–yuck. Looking out the window Sunday night felt like being in Alaska–nothing to be seen but blowing snow.

Leave a Reply

