So, did anyone notice that the December 2010 issue of this old (1933) and much respected publication will be last to be printed on paper with ink?

I did. I got the last copy from my uncle today. It was sitting on his coffee table. I think it’s sad. Because of the fact that no one seems to read anymore, in conjunction with the fact that paper and ink publications are much more expensive to produce than web pages; another piece of our world drifts off into oblivion.

I didn’t read U.S. News and World Report regularly. I haven’t subscribed to it in years. It’s sad all the same that it’s gone the way of the dodo. How long before all paper/ink publications follow? Have you ever tried reading the newspaper online? It just ain’t the same. Us older and fast-fading folks have sharp memories of bright Sunday mornings spent in the comfortable reading chair or in the breakfast nook reading our crinkly and inky newspapers whilst sipping our hot coffee. You just can’t duplicate that online.

Besides, if print magazines and newspapers are all gone one of these days, what will kidnappers use to paste up their ransom notes? Clipped images of letters from a Google Image search? I don’t think so.

Getting back to U.S. News and World Report… of course, you can subscribe to their new weekly. It’s called U.S. News Weekly. It’s just not going to be the same, folks. Oh well, there’s one sure thing in life… NOTHING stays the same; all is in flux all the time. It’s the nature of Nature, I guess. We’ll still have our memories of the crinkly paper and that hot coffee on Sunday mornings long ago… until the Alzheimer’s robs us of that, too.

Support print media… go buy a damned paper or magazine, won’t you? You don’t even have to read it. πŸ˜‰

Later…

~Eric

Image credits: ransom note Β© Mitra Farmand – Fuffermutter Comics

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

9 responses »

  1. I have mixed feelings on book and magazines going digital. On one hand it is nice to be able to carry hundreds, if not thousands of book/magazines on a small device. But on the other hand, there is nothing like reading an actual physical book and its a shame that future generations will not have the luxury. Although, I do enjoy reading on my Nook. Nice blog post Eric.

    Thanks

    • Thanks, pal! Yeah… there’s good and bad to be said for digital media, just like there was/is for print media. I think each serves a purpose. It’s sad that the endless pursuit of the almighty $ is driving the later out of the game completely, though.

      One thing that is much more fun on my computer than it would be in real life is S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Call of Pripyat, which is where I’m going right now. Have to boot into XP to play, though. Now THAT’S scary! πŸ˜‰

      Later…

  2. I too have mixed feelings about print media going digital, as I did banks going to ATMs … but my concerns are not just nostalgia based.

    If you have read books like 1984, Fahrenheit 451, et all, they paint a very serious picture of when people no longer read printed media … and show how easy it is to change what is printed without anyone’s knowledge for political purposes.

    Here’s a posting I made back in 2005 on this type of thing:

    http://bambismusings.wordpress.com/2005/03/29/1984-max-headroom-brave-new-world-time-machine-i-robot/
    or use this tiny url: http://preview.tinyurl.com/255xeq3

    Having said that, I absolutely love the convenience of banking, or paying for gas at the pump, without dealing with people directly.

    I also love the convenience of carrying books (ebooks and audiobooks) with me in my pocket (along with games and other entertainment) in a tiny device like the iPhone/iPod Touch, or an Android Phone, etc. … where I don’t have to worry about the cover getting ripped up from traveling with it or forgetting to grab it on my way out the door, or not feeling I can read right now due to my eyes not feeling up to it right now. I can still enjoy a good book regardless.

    So, I am not forgetting the downsides of media that can be changed without our knowledge, but…

    • Indeed. It’s scary to think about the ephemeral qualities of digital media and cloud repositories for such, etc. I too enjoy the conveniences of ATMs, online banking, pay-at-the-point-of-purchase, etc. However, there is an inherent security risk, as we’re finding out more and more every day, with all those things. Well, that’s progress, I s’pose. I’m still waiting for that cool chip implant in the back of my head that gives me access to the Internet via wifi. Just think it and know it. Everyone will be a know-it-all when this happens. πŸ˜‰

  3. ebrke says:

    It’s a good thing I like to re-read books. I still have a slew of them–hardcover and paperback–and when I’m old and poor (getting there rapidly) at least I’ll be able to read without having my media held hostage by some digital service. Sorry, but I firmly believe that’s coming, and it’ll be the real downside to the convenience of electronic media. That and the fact that anything held in the cloud can disappear at the whim of any government or corporate entity that objects to the content of your media.

Leave a Reply

