When I first came online back in 2000, Yahoo was one of the first sites that I utilized. It’s kinda’ sad to see it struggling.

One of my first email accounts was with Yahoo. I still use it every day, actually. It was the first search engine that I used regularly. It was also the first home page that I used until I learned to make my own custom home pages. Yahoo Groups was where I started one of my first online communities. I still visit a couple there nowadays. I have a lot of good memories about Yahoo.

From the Washington Post:

Yahoo to close more services after 600 layoffs

By MICHAEL LIEDTKE

The Associated Press
Thursday, December 16, 2010; 6:43 PM

SAN FRANCISCO — The content-sharing site Delicious may not be on Yahoo Inc.‘s shrinking menu of online services much longer.

Although a final decision evidently hasn’t been made, Delicious is on a list of services that Yahoo is planning to close after shedding 600 employees, or about 4 percent of its work force, earlier this week.

I don’t use Delicious, but I know quite a few folks who do. I understand that a few more services like Yahoo-Buzz, Yahoo Bookmarks, etc. may also be shutting down.

More from the above article:

In a statement, Yahoo confirmed it will phase out several services in the coming months without specifically mentioning Delicious. The company, based in Sunnyvale, Calif., said it would provide more details “when appropriate.”

Other services on Yahoo’s “sunset” list include MyBlogLog, Yahoo Buzz, Yahoo Picks and Yahoo Bookmarks.

I hope Yahoo can pull themselves up by the bootstraps and continue to compete in the online world. I’d hate to see Google become a Microsoft-like monopoly. They are well on their way to that already. Wish I owned a LOT of Google stock, actually. Also, I hope that the 600 souls who find themselves without any income just before Christmas manage to get their lives back on track as quickly as possible.

Later…

~Eric

Sources: Washington Post email alert

Image credit: MyYahoo® logo owned by Yahoo, Inc.

*This article a cross-post from Nocturnal Slacker (LockerGnome.com)

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

2 responses »

  1. Pilgrim says:

    Well I can tell you now that my son just finished at Yahoo on Friday the 17th. He wasn’t laid off but I think there must have been some writing on the wall. He had only been with them for a year and suddenly was interviewing for a couple other companies. Hmmm He started his new job today. He’s in Palo Alto and this new job is in San José so he can commute quite easily.

Leave a Reply

