My father used to say that no man was an island. I never subscribed to that baloney. I was always pretty much a loner. I didn’t need anyone in my life. I was never lonely.

I always had friends, though; many of them. A few, a handful or so, were very close friends. I’ve always valued my friends. I’m a firm believer that anyone with at least one friend in this world is a rich person. Conflicting beliefs for a loner? No, not really. I’m still a one-man show, but I know the value of true friends; even more so this past few years.

I lost my job back in August of ’08. I’ve been unemployed ever since. My unemployment compensation, a paltry $195.00/week, ran out back in February of ’10. It’s been a struggle this past two and half years to eat and stay healthy. I’ve managed, though. Truth be told, I’ve managed (and am continuing to manage) with much needed and appreciated assistance from my friends.

I hope to one day be able to pay them all back monetarily. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to repay them for all the kindness, though… and I truly hope they’re never in the position to need any help from others, as I was/am, but if they ever find themselves in that situation, I would want them to know that I’ll be there in any way I can be to assist them.

Maybe dad was right. We aren’t meant to be islands floating along, occasionally bumping into one another, in the vast seas of life. Maybe we need to clump together to make a larger, more stable land mass every so often. Thoughts like these really play hell with my big, burly biker image.

Don’t have any friends? Find one. Already have a friend? Let ‘em know you care. Don’t be afraid to love a little. Life is an uncaring, pragmatic thing. You can make it just a wee bit softer and warmer with a little love.

Later…

~Eric

P.S. If anyone wants to give me some love, I prefer tall, slim brunettes with light eyes. ;)

Image credits: Snoopy/Woodstock © 2010 PEANUTS Worldwide LLC

About V. T. Eric Layton

vtel57, Nocturnal Slacker

8 responses »

  1. Yes, no matter what comes down the pike at us, or to us, good friends sure make life so much more rewarding and actually help to make it possible to go on sometimes.

    We have been very fortunate when it comes to our friends, online and offline (IRL), and count you as one of those dear friends. When I hear you talk like this, it reminds me of another dear friend who is no longer with us, Bruno. We all miss him dearly. It is good to take stock of our friends and count our blessings!

    Great musings there, Eric!

    Thanks for the heads up on this posting! :)

  2. comhack says:

    Thanks for the kind words Eric!! I am a loner myself but we all need friends when in times of need and times of fortune. It is great to have good friends. :-)

  3. donnah says:

    Very sweet, Eric, and thank you for the reminder to reach out and share with family and friends. I have been lucky to have been surrounded by many friends, some of whom I’ve known since I was a kid. Those are the real treasures in our lives.

    Hugs from a slender, blonde/brunette with dark brown eyes. ;-)

  4. ChipDoc says:

    Life has been noticeably harder for most of us in the past few years. The people who lucked out in all of this are the kids just starting out. The Dragon Lady and I got started in that awful recession of the early 80s. We didn’t realize how bad it was because we had nothing to compare it with. My own kids are just getting started now and they’re both doing well because they’re not comparing themselves to where they were ten years ago.

    You’ve been a good friend, Eric. It’s never been about money; you’ve been generous with your time and with your knowledge. Those are more valuable than money in any case.

    Well… except when it comes to paying bills!

  5. Susan says:

    Eric,

    An excellent post, Eric!

    I firmly believe that we are here to help each other. As a loner/I-can-do-it-myself-er myself, I find it difficult to accept help from others when I needed it. But remember, by helping each other we build community, tolerance, affection, and a sense of well-being. People love to help when they can so give them the opportunity to do just that.

    Hugs and a belated Happy Valentine’s Day from a tall, slim, blue-eyed redhead. ;-)

    S

Leave a Reply

